Of Shoes and Ships

I’m sure these first few posts will not be Shakespearean. But my goal is to sharpen my writing skills, and possibly entertain.  For a while now I’ve been curious about the response I get from people after I say “thank you.” Most of the time the response is “you welcome”, where did the ‘re go?  More importantly when did this happen? I hear it in every store, and service business and I’m not sure why it bugs me. Probably not the end of Western Civilization, but maybe it bothers me because it is a another example of a shortcut or lack of attention to detail. Next time I’ll tackle a more pressing subject such as the phony hug and sometime kiss people receive at parties or other social gatherings.

Leave a Reply

